Tuesday, February 23, 2016

AU's Model Arab League Team Places Second at Regionals

At this year's Ohio Model Arab League competition, Ashland University's team came in second,  placing ahead of thirteen other teams, among them teams from Ohio State University, Miami University, and Centre College, KY. This year's team also won numerous individual awards. Kelly Ranttila, Joey Barretta, Jackson Yenor, James Coyne, Joshua Frey, Brianna Sargent, and Sophia Leddy all won awards for their individual performances representing Qatar. AU's team was advised by Dr. Rene Paddags, Assistant Professor of History & Political Science. This is the first time Ashland University won a team award since it began participating in Model Arab League competitions four years ago.

AU's Model Arab League Team

A Model Arab League competition resembles a summit meeting of delegations from Arab countries. Divided into different committees, the delegates represent their countries' interests and try to achieve joint resolutions according to a pre-set agenda. The students participating in the Model Arab League are judged on their knowledge of their country and the region, their knowledge of parliamentary procedures, and their persuasiveness and diplomatic skills.


  1. Nearly all of them, I note with satisfaction, are Reacting to the Past veterans.

  2. Do I also see Reid Courtney in that photo?